The Minerals Council of Australia has awarded four scholarships to women for board studies, in conjunction with member companies BHP Billiton and Downer EDI Mining.

The scholarships have been awarded to women working in the mining industry to enable them to complete the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD) Company Directors' Course during 2014. The scholarship program follows the success of last year's program which saw three women complete the Company Directors' Course in 2013.

The scholarship winners are:

  • Andrea Maxey – VP Corporate Affairs and HR, AngloGold Ashanti Australia Limited (sponsor: MCA)
  • Jacqui McGill – Asset President, BHP Billiton Mitsui Coal (BMC) (sponsor: MCA)
  • Julie Shuttleworth - General Manager, Gold Fields Granny Smith Mine (sponsor: Downer EDI Mining)
  • Miriam Stanborough – Project Manager, Iluka Resources Limited (sponsor: BHP Billiton)

The Scholarships are an MCA initiative to encourage more female participation on mining company boards.

The overwhelming popularity of the scholarships (there were 46 applications) demonstrates that there is a strong community of interest among talented women for Board positions.

The Scholarship includes:

  1. Registration for the AICD Company Directors Course (including an option to attend the "Residential" program);
  2. One year membership of the AICD; and
  3. Reasonable travel and accommodation costs to the value of $2,000 (not applicable for the "Residential" program)

The total value is $9,200 per scholarship.

The MCA has also decided to assist another seven women to complete a board readiness e-learning module offered by the Australian Institute of Company Directors. They are:

  • Deanna Lomas (MMG Limited)
  • Janette Hewson (Peabody Energy)
  • Jo Barron-Perry (BHP Billiton)
  • Lynn Olssen (Snowden)
  • Helen Anderson (Seabed Geosolutions)
  • Michelle Keegan (Incitec Pivot Limited)
  • Andrea Marsland-Smith (Heathgate Resources)

Download complete article